Keeping it real

So I am in my master’s program and I am working and I am married. Right now I am in an Ethics class and it is hard. I am struggling. In fact I am down right procrastinating. I don’t want to do my papers, or my posts. In fact, at this very moment, I hate school. lol. Not really.

But sometimes I get so frustrated. I would so much rather be done with my degree, I would rather be working in the career I know I should be in. I would rather… [fill in blank here].

The reality (as we all “know”) is that the grass isn’t greener over there, but I sure feel like it ought to be. I would rather be working in some beach country after surfing all morning. Surf, work, eat, surf, work, wife, surf, wife, wife, sleep. This is an amazing life! But alas, it isn’t mine.

In fact I am quite sure I wouldn’t be happy with that life either.

So the fact that I am procrastinating leads me to write about how to NOT do it.

  • Set mini goals: Reward yourself! While the goal of graduating is a great goal, it can be a little lofty when I am threatening to quit THIS CLASS. Setting a goal like, “when I get done with this paper I am going to go get frozen yogurt.” Or, “When I get done with this class/semester I am going to go to disneyland/traveling.” Mini goals help with the over all goal of finishing strong.
  • Study at the times that are best for you: I hate studying at night, which of course is the only time I can study. But I hate it because I am not a night person. My brain is literally slower after about 4pm. After 8:30pm I am virtually useless. But at 6am? My brain is sharp as a whistle.
  • Study with others: Most of the time studying alone is going to be the most profitable. But sometimes studying with other people helps keep you on track and provides an element of accountability. It’s more fun too!
  • Just do it! I know I know. I ought to be studying right now. But typing my thoughts on the blog is so much more fun…

Alright alright. I’ll go study. Geeze. Ask me if I finished tomorrow.

About Nathan and Joanna Cornett

We are a from San Diego California, currently on a mission trip in Guatemala. Nathan has worked as a youth pastor, teen center director, college advisor, and now missionary. Joanna has worked at LaBahn's Landscape for 7 years in the field, sales, and as the Vice President, she started the Hispanic ministry at Foothills Church, and has worked in youth ministry, she is now working as a missionary. We are both passionate about youth, worship, and missions.

Leave a Reply

