Purpose

Knowing your purpose is a bit conceited. When I was preaching more, I would be asked on a regular basis, “How can you be sure”? The question is posed because people don’t understand how such a vague and general question about purpose can be articulated. But it can! You can know what you are supposed to do, and then set our goals to get it done!

Joel Barker said, “Vision without action is a dream. Action without vision is simply passing the time. Action with Vision is making a positive difference.” Joel Barker is a man who understands vision and how it is achieved in the world. We must be a generation who lives their life with conviction and purpose to action. For too long people have been talkers and not doers. We must be both. “Seeing” the way the world could be is only part of the paradigm, we must also go out and ‘Just do It’.

I encourage you, before you decide to invest multiple thousands of dollars and countless hours on college, ask yourself, why? Why go to college? What is the goal after college? It’s not all about being happy, it is about living in your strengths with purpose for life. Then success will follow. Then making a difference in the world will follow. Then being fulfilled will follow.

If you’re reading this, if you can hear me… Let me know if I am wrong. How do you feel about this idea?

Tags: , , ,

About Nathan and Joanna Cornett

We are a from San Diego California, currently on a mission trip in Guatemala. Nathan has worked as a youth pastor, teen center director, college advisor, and now missionary. Joanna has worked at LaBahn's Landscape for 7 years in the field, sales, and as the Vice President, she started the Hispanic ministry at Foothills Church, and has worked in youth ministry, she is now working as a missionary. We are both passionate about youth, worship, and missions.

2 responses to “Purpose”

  1. Breaking Boxes 01 says :

    Your exactly right! I have been to college and changed my major from Elementary Education, to Fine Arts, to Nursing. Situations, timing, people, and life have been an obstacle and I still don’t have a degree after being in school for 4 years. The goals I had planned weren’t really my own! I left college with an enormous amount of loans to pay back. I want to be a writer/researcher its where I’m most happy and I don’t really care for negative opinions. I can be myself. I always wanted to be in journalism and was turned off, when asked the question, ” What are you going to due if you were asked to leave at 3 in the morning to hop on a helicopter to fly to another state to cover a story, who is going to watch your daughter?” Well of course, that sent that dream spiraling. That was before I caught onto blogging.

  2. College Life Planning says :

    Blogging is great! My sister in law wants to write, she is going back to college to pursue it, even after she started what she thought would be her career. She was nervous because she really wants to be a wife and mom at her core, but having a career is important, and she loves to write. Blogging is one example of how she will be able to use her passion and skills in the professional world. Another way is for business people (like me) who have a lot of content to ‘get out there’, but whose writing/grammar/spelling are horrible. I would gladly pay her to review and improve my work for the sake of my students/customers.

    Have you checked out my website yet? http://www.collegelifeplanning.com

Leave a Reply

