Bringing people in:

by: Phil Ortiz and Nathan Cornett

www.collegelifeplanning.com

Community. We’re all in one. Be it a university, a church, an organization, a business. We are all living in community. Becoming a part of this community means that in your heart, or your being, you are a part of this community, you belong. Your have bought in to the friends, the vision, the reality that this group presents. For me (Phil) I never thought I was a part of my organization; I was involved. Trust me, I was involved. Coming to a realization now as an older man, I never felt that feeling of being in that community; I realized, no one is making an effort to bring people into that community. If I didn’t feel it, then no one is doing it. I am an outgoing guy. I am accepting. I am open to relationship and correction, and involvement. Still… I never felt involved. So think about this, a guy that is open, involved, out going, I still never felt included and a part of the community.

In your heart you know that the community, the vision, the group is good! It’s beneficial. It is truth, almost. You get to a point when you see two foundations, you know that it’s good. But secondarily you see that people don’t feel included. That’s where you see the need. It is in that moment that you decide that someone (i.e. ME!) has a role. Someone, me, needs to bring people in. Me. No one else will do it. Just me. You see how people live their lives, you  see how they operate, you see how they live their life, yet there is no expansion.

Without that expansion, the community will DIE. People have either ignored or not seen the need for the expansion. If you see it, it is something powerful, something that requires response. Everyone should have availability to that kind of life. When people aren’t perusing that culture of “success”, the people who listen to Mark Hoffman, who know that kind of life; it is boarder line sin. When you’re not doing that it is selfish. You’re looking to yourself. When you invite others in it is a benefit to yourself!

Not that Mark Hoffman is the point. But being in community is! When you don’t feel that you are a part of the community, it takes courage to become a part of that community. “I am this community”. “I am this church”. “I am this organization”. When you don’t “feel” apart of it, that kind of a statement require courage.

“Paying your dues” is not part of community. Jesus said that following him makes you part of the community, not paying dues.

www.collegelifeplanning.com

About Nathan and Joanna Cornett

We are a from San Diego California, currently on a mission trip in Guatemala. Nathan has worked as a youth pastor, teen center director, college advisor, and now missionary. Joanna has worked at LaBahn's Landscape for 7 years in the field, sales, and as the Vice President, she started the Hispanic ministry at Foothills Church, and has worked in youth ministry, she is now working as a missionary. We are both passionate about youth, worship, and missions.

Leave a Reply

