Personal Experience:

I love to advise students, preferably when they are freshman in high school, with plenty of time in front of them to grow and make something out of their lives that is based in wisdom, and rooted in their true strengths. I speak with hundreds of students who are really struggling to make the right decision with college, all of them in their late 30’s and mid 40’s. Going to school for them is a kind of ‘last ditch effort’. As the economy turns and jobs are lost we see struggling families turning toward education because many working men and women are losing out because they lack that little piece of paper on the wall.

One word of caution; school is an investment tool- it is not the solution to your problems. In fact, it can create a whole world of problems if you’re not careful. I owed over $60k to Sallie Mae because I went to a private school to earn a degree that has an ROI of about $25k per year (even in San Diego!!). If I were to give every dime I earned to my loan, it would still take 29 months to pay off! So now I work an 8-5 J.O.B. counseling students for a non-disclosed university, and while I appreciate it; I want to work for myself and more importantly, I want to advise students who are just starting out in this game we call ‘life’.

I do not beleive college is for everyone, but I do think that with over 60% of HS grads going to college, I want to be there with the advice and wisdom that wasn’t there for me. I want to be the voice of reason speaking to you in a world of reckless debt and spending, a world of “go to college at all costs”, and a world of crazy abandon of reason and common sense. For whatever reason I had the audacity to ignore sound advice and wisdom from the people around me; and in retrospect, I needed a good swift kick to the head (metaphorically speaking of course)! I would love to spend time with you and help you figure out this whole crazy world of college. There are some good tips on this blog and there are a ton of great resources on the web.

Feel free to call me directly at: 619-823-5974. My name is Nathan Cornett and I am a college advisor.

About Nathan and Joanna Cornett

We are a from San Diego California, currently on a mission trip in Guatemala. Nathan has worked as a youth pastor, teen center director, college advisor, and now missionary. Joanna has worked at LaBahn's Landscape for 7 years in the field, sales, and as the Vice President, she started the Hispanic ministry at Foothills Church, and has worked in youth ministry, she is now working as a missionary. We are both passionate about youth, worship, and missions.

Leave a Reply

